Claiming This Spot

TSN: Masters of Twitter?

4 Comments

In my own little sports world, I need to always know what the latest update and score is for every game out there. The easiest way I’ve found to do this is to follow TSN (The Sports Network) on Twitter (@TSN_Sports). Whether I’m at work, sitting at home, or at school, I always have instant updates that are current and relevant to what is going on in the world.

The first thing I always notice when I navigate to the TSN Twitter page is the blinding red graphics signature to the TSN network on television (now I know I’m on the right page!). The TSN logo is everywhere, because of all of the posts that are written. This is great for branding, and getting the TSN name out to the public to generate more followers.

Every hour or so, TSN sends out several tweets at once, updating the viewer of the latest news in sports, trades, or events. There can sometimes be 50 or more tweets a day! The tweets feature mostly professional and amateur sports games, players, and results. The tweets are always to-the-point and provide the necessary information viewers want to see, but always reference the viewer to their website to see the details (an incredibly smart idea, business-wise). In every single tweet, there is a link to where the complete story can be found on the TSN website www.tsn.ca, so if you want the details, they’re always one click away.

One of the best parts about the TSN Twitter page is that it follows all of the TSN analysts and broadcasters for the network. I follow Dan O’toole (@tsnotoole), and Jay Onrait (@JayOnrait), both of whom are broadcasters for TSN’s most popular show, Sportscentre (@SportsCentre). By following some of the broadcasters and TSN at the same time, I always have an opinion and the facts on the information I’m receiving. For example, TSN will offer the update on the latest trade in the National Hockey League, but O’toole will tweet the details or any “behind the scenes drama” about the trade. It’s like all of the news is connected to each other through other people, including the fans, who are very opinionated, and like to input their opinion about the results.

Needless to say I’m very happy with all of the tweets that I receive from TSN, so I always know what’s going on in the world of sports, and I never miss anything. As I type, I’m getting the latest news on several National Hockey League players signing with the Swiss Elite League! So if you’re a sports fanatic like myself, it would be worth your while to follow TSN, especially if you’re in the North American continent.

And while you’re logging on to Twitter to follow @TSN_Sports, why not follow me @ClaraQuinn13 ? Happy tweeting!

4 thoughts on “TSN: Masters of Twitter?

  1. totally what i was gonna do! i’ll just do sportscenter instead

  2. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge you provide here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .

    . Anyways, great blog!

Leave a Reply

