Claiming This Spot

A Lot of Mistakes

1 Comment

In my line of work, I read a lot of papers in all types of formats and subjects. Some of the grammar and spelling are, shall I say, face-palm worthy.

But there’s one mistake that sets me off every time.

A lot.

No, seriously. The misspelling of “a lot.”

I put a slash through those two words on someone’s paper every day. Sometimes more than once. What I’m trying to say is that this happens a lot.

Okay, I’ll stop now.

I’ve known this since the fifth or sixth grade, and it was hammered out of me immediately by a persistent English teacher. I suppose not many people had a teacher that pushed them to learn how to spell these simple words. Much to the dismay of innocent people like myself. *sigh* Might as well start using synonyms like “loads”, “oodles”, or “plethora”.

I often see “a lot” spelled as “alot” or “allot”. According to Grammar Monster the difference is that “alot” doesn’t exist except for a town in India called Alot. “Allot” means to distribute or divide.

I love clarity. Hopefully this post gives others a lot of clarity too.

One thought on “A Lot of Mistakes

  1. I agree! Nice post.

Leave a Reply

