Claiming This Spot

Unplug. Recharge. Repeat.

Leave a comment

Cell phones allow us to interact with each other whenever we want. But how often has your phone been a tool in creating a negative experience in your life? For example, the number of times I’ve had a relationship-altering argument by text with a significant other or friend is too many to describe. I can’t be the only one though. So I think this question is worth asking yourself: “What would my life be right now if it wasn’t for the negative experiences I’ve had resulting from using my phone?”

The more I use my phone, the more questions I have. Knowing the facts about whether a phone is detrimental or essential to everyday live has become a topic of interest lately. Especially over controversy over the approaching National Day of Unplugging. The National Post sums this up nicely.

Keep it charged: The case against the well-intentioned but misguided National Day of Unplugging

This story brought a different spin to a topic that at the surface would seem like a positive call to action. Step away from your phone and social networks, then feel instantly better.

For people like myself, trouble wouldn’t be far away if I couldn’t check my email. As I sometimes like to say: emails make the world go round. There’s more to unplugging than simply being unavailable or unable to do your job (and maybe keep it) without a portable method of global communication.

I came up with angles that I think should be explored further:

  • Would employers consider allowing employees to take moderated days in their schedules to unplug?
  • Which interaction is more efficient: face-to-face or digital?
  • How to maximize the productivity of your phone without clutter.
  • Does unplugging from phones for a day increase well-being or induce more stress?
  • The link between cell phones and depression.

What are your opinions on National Day of Unplugging? Are you participating this year? Comment below (or not, if you’re unplugging).

Leave a Reply

